Sleep is for the weak

” Sleep is for the weak “  My dear reader ,  you probably have heard of this saying at least once before , right ? I have too , since I’m 21yrs old my friends always say that , if they want to convince me to go out and hit the bars or to go to some concert/party , and it’s always before having an exam or having to work on the exact next day . Well , on today’s post that’s not the case . This weekend I’ve started my summer adventure , finally ! So  let me tell you more about it .

I’m participating in the Work and Travel USA program . It’s a programme of international cultural exchange that allows students from different countries of the world to depart on summer vacations to the United States to work and travel. The primary purpose of the program is to acquaint foreign students with the culture and life of modern America and the distribution of other cultures among its inhabitants. This will be my second summer spend with awesome people and filled with great memories , I hope . I’ll be working on Cape Cod , MA . Currently I’m staying in New Jersey and will visit a few cities around the state , meet up with friends and also visit New York .

So pretty much I spent my Saturday in traveling ! I live in Sofia , Bulgaria as I mentioned before in one of my blog posts .
I had to take two flights to America . My first one was from Sofia to Amsterdam , second one from Amsterdam to New Jersey . In total I spent 12hrs up in the sky and 8hrs around airports ! As you can imagine the day before all my long traveling took a turn I hadn’t packed my stuff . I did it in the last-minute and I was ready with it around midnight and my flight was at 7am . So I went to bed somewhere in between 1am – 1:30am and had to wake up at 4am . The excitement I felt was so strong . I’ve been waiting for this day to happen for months ,felt kinda like a bird which is going to fly south .Yeaay towards the sun ! When I arrived at the airport I was filled with energy and positive thoughts , got my ticket ,my boarding pass even for the long flight , turned out I had some friends who were traveling with the same flight . Super nice !

The short flight was perfect . Had no issues with it ,even met an adorable dutch couple which had travelled around Bulgaria and enjoyed it a lot so I listened to their story . When I arrived in Amsterdam I was a bit sleepy but nothing too bizarre. All of them known people of mine had to take different flights so I end up alone in Schiphol for four hours . Sucked to be me . On the bright side I can say that I know every angle of the dutch airport now . I bought a dope magnet with a famous dutch bunny and it looks like a traveller so it was a great choice for me , representing my cute self and a memory from Schiphol .
I’m a traveling cute lil bunny , woah ! Wait what? Do I sense awesome ? Yep , I totally rock . Remember it , december it ! Ha

11256515_10205942675798898_1757000156_n   11259175_10205930134245367_4604547173225964816_n

11257894_10205930285569150_9209090794799248077_n

On my second flight I could feel getting tired . My seat kinda sucked , I was in the first row , thank God not in the middle .
But the seatbelt sign light was in front of me and was “burning” my eyes and I couldn’t sleep . And yes , I didn’t take the sleeping mask because I am smart . Even if I did I probably wouldn’t be able to sleep again because I didn’t have who/what to lean on and wasn’t comfy . Other bad thing is that I couldn’t reach normally the tablets you have in front of you ( they are on the seat’s back in front of you but in my case it was on the wall ) had to unfasten my seatbelt so I could reach it ha ha short girl problems . During the flight I watched like two movies and some TED shows . At the end I was so tired , my eyes were closing and when I heard that we’re arriving in 30minutes had a rush of happiness . Anyways , had to wait to be picked for 3hrs because I arrived earlier and because the person who was picking me up from the airport couldn’t come earlier . Killed one hour with the passport security check , there were too many people on the foreigner passport check line . So far so good . The policeman who was asking me questions was actually interested in what I was saying even asked me about my country and language, which was cool some new information and knowledge , I know that’s their job to do this and check if you’re not some bananas weirdo . Still he was kind . After that picked up my 20kg luggage , felt like The Incredible Hulk . Why that heavy , what the hell did I bring with me? Don’t ask , I’m a girl and will be living in the states for five months . Decided to grab a big latte and sit where the arrivals section is . Enjoyed watching the joy and tears in people’s eyes while seeing their friends , family and loved ones ! So if you want to define or witness happiness and  pure love go to the closest airport ! At the end I could feel the need to sleep but hey – SLEEP IS FOR THE WEAK , let’s do some mathematics 12hrs + 8hrs = 20hrs without sleep and just 3hrs sleep back from the previous day . Lucky me , lucky me . When I finally got to my new “home”  I took a hot shower and went straight to bed , it was 9:30 pm . Ha ha ! Couldn’t be more happy  .

I’m a lazy person and I do love to take naps and I need to get my beauty sleep every single day! It’s my second day here in the states and I’m still dealing with time change. Rocks my world , I get sleepy aroun 9pm and I wake up at 3,4,5 am !tt
It’s cool tho. everything will be normal soon .. I hope , so here is a quote for an End.

“People say, ‘I’m going to sleep now,’ as if it were nothing. But it’s really a bizarre activity. ‘For the next several hours, while the sun is gone, I’m going to become unconscious, temporarily losing command over everything I know and understand. When the sun returns, I will resume my life.’

If you didn’t know what sleep was, and you had only seen it in a science fiction movie, you would think it was weird and tell all your friends about the movie you’d seen.

They had these people, you know? And they would walk around all day and be OK? And then, once a day, usually after dark, they would lie down on these special platforms and become unconscious. They would stop functioning almost completely, except deep in their minds they would have adventures and experiences that were completely impossible in real life. As they lay there, completely vulnerable to their enemies, their only movements were to occasionally shift from one position to another; or, if one of the ‘mind adventures’ got too real, they would sit up and scream and be glad they weren’t unconscious anymore. Then they would drink a lot of coffee.’

So, next time you see someone sleeping, make believe you’re in a science fiction movie. “

tumblr_no6wjw7oDE1r6n7h7o1_1280


One thought on “Sleep is for the weak

Leave a Reply

