Sofia city

Sofia is a city located at the foot of Vitosha Mountain in the Western part of Bulgaria.It’s the biggest city and the capital of the country .The current name Sofia was first used in the 14th-century Vitosha Charter of Bulgarian tsar Ivan Shishman or in a Ragusan merchant’s notes of 1376; it refers to the famous Holy Sophia Church (Αγία Σοφία), an ancient church in the city named after the Christian concept of the Holy Wisdom . Many of the major universities ,cultural institutions and commercial companies of Bulgaria are concentrated in Sofia . That’s cool and if you’re more interested – all of that you can read in Wikipedia! I am going to write about Sofia from my point of view!

How I ended up living in the capital: When I was almost 7 years old my parents decided to live in Sofia . I’m originally born in Pleven, it’s a city located in the Northern part of the country . My parents were traveling every week to the capital and my father had some business there ,so they decided for us to move to Sofia . As a child my reaction was ,well normal, a bit sad because all my friends,relatives and everything I knew was in Pleven,not the other unknown-for-me city . As time passed I got in school,got new friends,new streets to walk around and play . Now I can say that Sofia is my city,also I do go to my home town from time to time to see my grandparents and relax .

Most common things here: Half of the “sofian” people are not born here,those who – sometimes are considered as the elite . Doesn’t really matter who you are ,everyone complains about the place,the things happening,work,politics (not even going to comment on that), “sofians” are just in the epicenter of things ! Or at least that’s what we think…

What I love about this concrete jungle: Why concrete? Because nowadays you can see buildings facing each other in most of the neighbourhoods ,that’s cool tho, an easy way to stalk your district mates ! Ha ha. Now to get back on the topic . I do love our downtown area! You can find small cozy coffee shops and tea houses,where you can read the news in the morning or relax and forget about the stress in the afternoon! There are parks with nice gardens and benches,so you can walk and have a good time with friends (we do like grabbing a few beers and chilling with the homies, it’s something you will definitely see).We do have one of the dopest bars and clubs ,so if it’s evening and if it’s the weekend(even if not) – get smashed!

My absolute favourite thing is the streets – easy to walk and get from point A to point B ,plus the awesome vintage edifices ( a bit wrecked) , random funky graffiti and installations made from extremely talented people! What is a city without art? In any way the cherry on top here is Vitosha Mountain!

ss (415)

Some еlectronic boards in center !

ss (272)

ss (191)

ss (192)

ss (229)

20131026_141836

11164796_10205857827237737_7367567343310215589_n

And let’s not forget about our hella cool monsters! Check them outhttp://www.boredpanda.com/sofia-monsters/

Sofia University “St. Kliment Ohridski”201012916947

National Theatre!
017_012_Sofia.jpg

National Library!
народна библиотека-2

Leave a Reply

